This week: Democratic Debate, 20 in 3 out


There were 2 ways to make it to the Democrat debate stage. Either by reaching 1 percent in three polls recognized by the national party committee, or by receiving contributions from a minimum 65,000 unique donors as well as 200 unique donors in at least 20 states.

14 candidates qualified by reaching polling and individual contribution thresholds.

  • Vice President Joe Biden
  • Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey
  • South Bend, Ind., Mayor Pete Buttigieg
  • former Housing and Urban Development secretary and former onetime San Antonio, Texas, Mayor Julian Castro
  •  Rep. Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii; Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand of New York
  •  Sen. Kamala Harris of California
  • Gov. Jay Inslee of Washington state
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota
  • former Rep. Beto O’Rourke of Texas
  • Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont
  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
  • best-selling spiritual author Marianne Williamson
  • entrepreneur Andrew Yang.

Six more candidates will take the stage by reaching the polling criteria.

  • Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado
  •  New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio
  •  former Rep. John Delaney of Maryland
  • former Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper
  • Rep. Tim Ryan of Ohio
  •  Rep. Eric Swalwell of California.

Failing to qualify are:

  • Gov. Steve Bullock of Montana
  • Rep. Seth Moulton of Massachusetts
  • Miramar, Fla., Mayor Wayne Messam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here